Can any Maths Geniuses help out?

convert

Inactive User
Reaction score
Can any Cleva maths bunnies help out with this question please. My Daughter got this as a Mock GCSE question, and I'm fooked If I can work it. And I studied Maths at "A" level about 300 yrs ago.

I attach a PDF of the question, anyone know how to work this out? I know it must use the Perpendicular height (unknown "h") or they wouldn't use it. I don't know.... a number of times I thought I had it, but I can't prove it.

My son sussed it BUT he's done maths "A" level last year and is doing further maths "A" level this year starting a Maths degree at Uni in September...

He's the wrong one to ask because he's on another planet when it comes to maths, me and my daughter just looked at each other when he went off on one. His way (what ever it was he tried to explain) Can't be the way to do it because my daughter doesn't have a clue what he's talking about and it's too deep for a GCSE student. It's not what they are looking for.

Anyone have a simple explanation?

Convert

nara

Who?
VIP Member
Reaction score
If you know know that the overall height of the triangle ABD is h,you can divide it into smaller triangles and use Pythagorus' theorum to work out areas. A bit of algebra plus arithmetic should get you on from there, but my brain's too sore at the moment to go into more detail.

There may be a simpler way, but I did maths in the Dark Ages.

Last edited:

Trabbs

VIP Member
VIP Member
Reaction score
As nara says, the area of the ABC triangle can be calculated by forming two right angle triangles by dropping a line from A to a point between B and C (call it E). These two areas can be calculated as can the area of triangle ACD by calculating the area of the triangle formed by the line from A to E and then deducting the area of the small triangle AEC formed by the new line. You will see that the area of ABC is larger than ACD by twice the size of the triangle AEC. Hope this helps.

geofden