Bush Hd freesat

bigboris

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
306
Reaction score
2
Any info if this is a good box under £70 at arg+s was wondering about picture quality ,suppose all the same though, and does the iplayer stream ok.?Was asked by the outlaw.(thinking of getting one tomorrow}
Regards Boris
 

Explosivo

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
4,729
Reaction score
650
Location
Dumbarton or Wellingborough
hey
i got this box about a year ago, the picture is excelent on both the hd and standard channels on my 42"lcd through hdmi (set to 720p)

iplayer works fine since the last update through an 8mb connection
 

pinkhelmets

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 10, 2001
Messages
5,187
Reaction score
174
Location
essex colchester-ipswich
I've installed them and think they are great value. Not tried the iplayer on one of them yet, but it will be fine as long as your internet speed is decent. If you have a HD screen with free channels needed only, you cant go wrong with one of these. Forget freeview, forget a sky dodgybox, these give simplicity & quality for a budget price.
 

bigboris

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
306
Reaction score
2
Cheers for the replys, he went and fetched one yesterday and returned it because it was faulty on hdmi but ok on scart,just been to see me and taking the replacement back also, so i dont know what to say to him, seems possible bad batch, so i can only wait and see what he returns with possible sagem?
I think iplayer is main think but dont know, for a cheap hd possible a ross, {but not freesat line up}but with this lot its like delving into the unknown.
Regards Boris
 

Davebolton

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
First of all I would like to say Hello as I have joined the forum today.
I'm Dave from Bolton.
I have read the previous post concerning faults with HDMI output on the Bush receiver.
Over the past 5 days I have had 3 of these boxes all from various stores in the Bolton area. All have had the same problem to do with the HDMI output which of course is the only way to get HD from these boxes. The fault is the picture will flicker at the bottom of the screen with a crack from the sound the picture and sound will go off , they will then both come back on and the cycle will repeat. Scart socket output is ok but that output is not HD! The third box I had before returning it yesterday I did some experimenting. I put it in the freezer for half an hour. The output from the HDMI was ok for around 10 mins until the box warmed up. I then got an air dryer on the box and got it very hot. Trying it again I was amazed to find the HDMI output was fine and remained so for around half an hour until the box cooled down! The boxes have a date on them, 05/2010. I would like to ask has anyone bought a box recently and works ok on HDMI and what is the date on the back?
 

^^compass^^

DW Regular +
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
318
Reaction score
110
First of all I would like to say Hello as I have joined the forum today.
I'm Dave from Bolton.
I have read the previous post concerning faults with HDMI output on the Bush receiver.
Over the past 5 days I have had 3 of these boxes all from various stores in the Bolton area. All have had the same problem to do with the HDMI output which of course is the only way to get HD from these boxes. The fault is the picture will flicker at the bottom of the screen with a crack from the sound the picture and sound will go off , they will then both come back on and the cycle will repeat. Scart socket output is ok but that output is not HD! The third box I had before returning it yesterday I did some experimenting. I put it in the freezer for half an hour. The output from the HDMI was ok for around 10 mins until the box warmed up. I then got an air dryer on the box and got it very hot. Trying it again I was amazed to find the HDMI output was fine and remained so for around half an hour until the box cooled down! The boxes have a date on them, 05/2010. I would like to ask has anyone bought a box recently and works ok on HDMI and what is the date on the back?

A friend brought me one last week to test and i experienced picture flickering
after 4-5 minutes, he took it back and got a replacement only to find the same problem so Argos refunded his money.
 

bigboris

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
306
Reaction score
2
Mmm
Hes now ordered one grade A from humax direct £89 so hopefully should be ok,
Regards Boris
 

Tawke

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
2,541
Reaction score
751
Location
Wales
I bought a Grundig version of this for £29 about a year ago ( Same box afaik, PCWorld were selling them off nationwide ). It's not without it's problems but I do like it. Problems I've had are :

Sound out of sync sometimes ( less common with every update )
Sound cut out altogether sometimes ( power off and on to fix )

Pros:

Excellent picture quality on both SD and HD via HDMI
Very cheap ( it was for me at least, wish I'd bought the other box that was there )
IPlayer works well. Some glitches but really quite impressive especially on the higher quality setting. ( I've been on holiday the last week and my brother tells me it updated but I've not had chance to test the new firmware to see if IPlayer is even better )

I'd buy one again at around the £30 mark otherwise I'd spend the cash and get a Humax.
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Reaction score
1,283
Location
Essex
hey
i got this box about a year ago, the picture is excelent on both the hd and standard channels on my 42"lcd through hdmi (set to 720p)

iplayer works fine since the last update through an 8mb connection

How did you get the upgrade to work,

mine says iPlayer beta, I try and select a channel and then it just says connection lost ?
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Reaction score
1,283
Location
Essex
Seems to a load of these turning up on eBay at the moment. Most are advertised as SD so I guess there is a HDMI issue on some of them.
 

anderjay

Member +
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
112
Reaction score
0
Location
bristol
bought the bush freesat hd box about a month ago, no problems with hdmi or bbciplayer. Picture is great on a 42" plasma, although could do with a few more hd channels.
 
TEST
Top