Armour cable

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,775
I'm having my garden landscaped and a large workshop built
While the garden is being dug up it makes sense to have power running to workshop
What cable would I need as I see there are different types ? Run a light and plug for radio is all that's needed really
Thanks

Sent from Tapatalk
 

Abu Baniaz

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,209
I think if you have it underground, some other rules apply.
@Mick posted about it a while back
 
Last edited by a moderator:

shaun127

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
8,202
And Network cable @Rat may as well put that in.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

willin

Member ++
Joined
Sep 17, 2007
Messages
461
I'm having my garden landscaped and a large workshop built
While the garden is being dug up it makes sense to have power running to workshop
What cable would I need as I see there are different types ? Run a light and plug for radio is all that's needed really
Thanks

Sent from Tapatalk
I'm almost certain it needs to be armoured as you suggest, you could put a duct pipe in so in future you can run/replace cables etc as you wish, easy and cheap if your already doing landscape work, a leccie will be along soon and advise.
 

ketmp

Satellite Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
2,475
How/where were you thinking of taking it from within the house Rat?

I would, at a minimum, use a double pole spur with RCD. Ideally, it would have it's own MCB at fuse board
 

Mick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 19, 1999
Messages
31,955
Normally 450mm buried with 75mm sand above and below it.

I would take a 6mm cable, depending on the run length (volt drop) give you around 40-50amps to play with.

You don't have to bury armoured cable it can also be clipped direct on a wall for example.

Submain it from your existing CU and put a small consumer unit (CU) in the workshop (metal dual RCD)

Screwfix do them cheap
 

cactikid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,615
blimey if you get banished out of the house you might have wanted other cables lan installed in your dog house:Bounce:
 

ketmp

Satellite Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
2,475
What is in this man cave Rat? Snooker/pool table? Big screen TV and 5.1 surround sound. Big cumfy couch?

If so, I'll be around lol
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,775
It's just for storing my glass lol sometimes when I'm busy I can't fit it all on the van
But it'll be a nice place to hide too for some me time ;)

Sent from Tapatalk
 

hoponbaby

Member ++
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
132
Never hurts to run some cat 5 in, even if you don't see the imminent need for lan then can be used for additional CCTV cameras etc
 

Mick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 19, 1999
Messages
31,955
It's just for storing my glass lol sometimes when I'm busy I can't fit it all on the van
But it'll be a nice place to hide too for some me time ;)

Sent from Tapatalk
Make it big enough lol, it could be a nice retreat mate.

and yes run some cat6 etc, it can never hurt :)
 
TEST
Top