App controlled heating and smart plugs

Bk456

Member ++
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
352
Likes
2
#1
I would like to adopt a few smart devices. Firstly I would like to control my heating on my phone. I have a 4 zone heating programmer, with basic thermostats for downstairs, upstairs, hot water and detached summer house. What would be best so i can control zones and timers and temperature from my iPhone?

I also need a smart plug for outdoor christmas tree lights, they are powered in the attic and want a wifi plug so i can turn on/off from my phone. Although i can only seem to find wifi plugs, the wifi is poor in the attic but i do have an ethernet switch in attic but can't seem to find any of these smart plugs that have ethernet...

The only thing i can think of doing is adding a wireless access pointing the attic and then connecting wifi smart plug to it but surely must be a simpler way...
 

AJT

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
4,322
Likes
82
#2
A cheaper option should be just to use a remote control power switch in the attic and would save you a lot of money and hassle.
As for the heating control I don’t have much experience but I do know it’s dammed expensive and Hive seems to be a choice many go for.
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
681
Likes
215
#3
just went looking for a wired smart socket to link to. i cant find any for some reason.

i was nearly sure there was wired smart sockets on aliexpress but they seem to be all gone, but they have wired smart light switches which is strange.

i use the orvibo smart wifi sockets for the electric rads in my place and i must say they are brilliant compared to the analog timers i had on them before, which never turned on at the correct time.

i can control the plugs anywhere as long as im connected to the internet. i never have to worry about leaving them on again
 

IANB

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
13,017
Likes
482
#4
I use Honeywell evo system very flexible and you can have up to 9 zones. Controls well from smartphone alexa ect
 

dar1437

Worldz Biggest Oddball
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
2,205
Likes
222
#5
My wifi in 2 floors down from the router, but my TPLink wifi socket works fine. I don't think it needs much signal, as long as it's there. :)
 

AJT

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
4,322
Likes
82
#6
just went looking for a wired smart socket to link to. i cant find any for some reason.

i was nearly sure there was wired smart sockets on aliexpress but they seem to be all gone, but they have wired smart light switches which is strange.

i use the orvibo smart wifi sockets for the electric rads in my place and i must say they are brilliant compared to the analog timers i had on them before, which never turned on at the correct time.

i can control the plugs anywhere as long as im connected to the internet. i never have to worry about leaving them on again
Is it this your after or do I have wrong kit?
 

avid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2004
Messages
1,764
Likes
547
#7
I bought the Salus iT500 last year second hand for £40 off eBay works a treat with smart phone..But I think it can only control two zone with the added iT300.
 

Bk456

Member ++
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
352
Likes
2
#9
Thanks for the replies guys. Yea the plug maybe will reach, my broadband is only at the bottom of the stairs. Anyway, i used a second bt router to act as an access point in my summer house which is some job so i could just do the same for attic if needs be. I might even do one for upstairs so that wifi is better and just connect to the upstairs access point...
 

dar1437

Worldz Biggest Oddball
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
2,205
Likes
222
#10
What i do is, use poweline adapters to get 2 floors down, then connect one to another router, then use the wifi ssid off that router. :)
 

Bk456

Member ++
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
352
Likes
2
#11
I think heat miser looks to be a good system. Although i have an issue with my summer house, the electrician forgot to put a thermostat in the summerhouse and thus has to be turned on at the utility room timer in the house.

So how would i get round this?
 

Captin

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
3,290
Likes
180
#12
Energenie do a 4 way power strip that you can control over ethernet (they also do one with USB control) but it's not cheap, it's gonna be cheaper to just get an access point, around £15 or less on Amazon.
 
TEST
Top