Anyone Seen This Before>?

elite786

Inactive User
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
3
Location
somewhere with my tool set, looking for Action ;)
hi guys,

heres a new one for you DBOX masters ;)

ive got a black 1xI sagem when i power it up on the screen i get the following message:

LINE1 : BETA RESEARCH
LINE2 :DIGITAL BROADCASTING SOLUTIONS
followed by some squickly line

its the first time ive seen but it appears to be stuck in a loop the screen keeps refreshin it over n over again it wont boot any further. i cant get IP or anything, is there a chance it needs debugging again? ocassionally its gives the 'LADE' screen wit bmon version, mac addy n stuff.

any help appreciated guys.

thanks
 

elite786

Inactive User
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
3
Location
somewhere with my tool set, looking for Action ;)
dibbers said:
has it just happened ? or is the box new ?
http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=DIGITAL+BROADCASTING+SOLUTIONS&btnG=Google+Search&meta=
top line ? mmmm wonder what it is
Just bought the box, the guy said it was ok just had mood swings, dint work now and then, but since i got it home on sunday it hasnt worked ever! i tried IFA, 1 out out of 10 times its starts but that screen kicks in again.

im baffled, looks like its been locked or stuck in some bootloop or summit.

heres the LOG:

***Adapter Desc: NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport (via IpHlpApi #1)
***MAC address: 00:01:29:25:3C:E3 Local IP: 169.254.173.46
***BootP server started... Port 67
***TFTP server started... Port 69
BootP> Request from 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC (assuming that this is DBox).
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\u-boot"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 275 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\u-boot"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 275 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Non-BootP TFTP-transfer requested "\tftpboot\logo-lcd"
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\logo-lcd"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 16 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Non-BootP TFTP-transfer requested "\tftpboot\logo-fb"
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\logo-fb"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 352 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\u-boot"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 275 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\u-boot"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 275 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Non-BootP TFTP-transfer requested "\tftpboot\logo-lcd"
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\logo-lcd"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 16 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Non-BootP TFTP-transfer requested "\tftpboot\logo-fb"
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\logo-fb"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 352 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\u-boot"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 275 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Non-BootP TFTP-transfer requested "\tftpboot\logo-lcd"
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\logo-lcd"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 16 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Non-BootP TFTP-transfer requested "\tftpboot\logo-fb"
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\logo-fb"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 352 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\u-boot"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 275 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Non-BootP TFTP-transfer requested "\tftpboot\logo-lcd"
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\logo-lcd"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 16 blocks
BootP> Created dynamic ARP entry for DBoxIP 169.254.173.202 with MAC 00:50:9C:3C:36:EC
BootP> Answer sent!
TFTP> Non-BootP TFTP-transfer requested "\tftpboot\logo-fb"
TFTP> Started TFTP-Transfer for "C:\dboxifa_tmp\tftpboot\logo-fb"...
TFTP> Transfer finished, sent 352 blocks

after it TFTPs and sends blocks, it gets cutoff the betareserach screen comes back n IFA stops.

anyone know how to do a Hardware RESET? if there is such a thing.

thanks
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Reaction score
29
Location
Bavaria
Connect a null modem cable and post the log output.
 

elite786

Inactive User
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
3
Location
somewhere with my tool set, looking for Action ;)
mgb said:
Its look like debug mode is not enabled.
thats what i thought at first, but when i reboot it sometimes i get the screen that displays, bmon v, mac addy, memory n all that stuff. then it loads n i get the 'hallenberg' screen 2 secs later it goes back to the betaresearch screen. ive neva debugged a box before so i havent got a clue wot the screen lookes like before its in debug mode.

im gonna search da forum for a debug guide n take it from there :)

Thanks MGB
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Reaction score
29
Location
Bavaria
Debug mode should be enabled.
The transfer for logo-lc and logo-fb is requested from the box.
Check the log you get via null modem cable.
 

elite786

Inactive User
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
3
Location
somewhere with my tool set, looking for Action ;)
mgb said:
Debug mode should be enabled.
The transfer for logo-lc and logo-fb is requested from the box.
Check the log you get via null modem cable.
I beieve its already in debug mode, i dint save or read the log file from IFA.

this gets weirder by the minute, i just tried to recove rit using IFA finally it sent over all the files and IFA started doing its thing, backing up, flashing, verify then all thos smilies wit FERTIG! sweet no probs there, affectively i should have the new sportster 1.7+ uk05 thats the image i chose. i unplugged it took it downstairs wired it in

guess what.....................that dreaded screen again! BETARESEARCH! a few secs later it goes to the 'LADE' screen and i get the sportster logo come come sais uboot...and bamn! there were go again the BETARESEARCH screen!.

i cant get my head round it.

HELP! my hairs turning grey 10 times quicker!!

thanks
 

elite786

Inactive User
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
3
Location
somewhere with my tool set, looking for Action ;)
james boyle said:
are you sure you are flashing it with a 1x image m8
YUP! sure am, i havent got kein system or anything and the box is topless! i took to bits thinking it might be a short somewhere but clean as a whistle!

i think this ones had it, might have to scrap it!

anymore suggestions anyone?

thanks
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Reaction score
29
Location
Bavaria
Without a log output you cannot be shure that the whole image was written to the flash chips.
 

elite786

Inactive User
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
3
Location
somewhere with my tool set, looking for Action ;)
mgb said:
Without a log output you cannot be shure that the whole image was written to the flash chips.
MGB excuse my ignorance but the log u are reffering to should that be seen on the big white box that appears in IFA right after u click ok and connect the power cable to dbox? as that white big box has nothing in it.

can you tell me how to get a log file so i can determine exactly whats going on.

thanks mate
 
TEST
Top