any media player experts in the house ?

nilrem

Member +
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
921
Hi,
a long time ago i ripped all my cd's on to my pc (XPpro)using media player 10 but didn't rip them as mp3's.

My question is can i convert them from their present format to mp3 in media player without having to rip all the cd's over again ???

Cheers
 

Zooropa

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2001
Messages
13,074
Does that mean they're in wma format at the mo then m8
 

nilrem

Member +
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
921
yes m8 they are all wma at mo ...will give that a look

Cheers
 

nilrem

Member +
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
921
cheers for that m8 , next problem thats arisen is that it looks like media player has protected all my files so i cant convert them....is there a way around this ??

Cheers
 

hatab

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Messages
6,266
yeah i think media player copyrights each track when u rip........i think u will need nero or such like as they will remove copyright bit.
 

MA

Childrens but still respected
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
1,217
hatab said:
yeah i think media player copyrights each track when u rip........i think u will need nero or such like as they will remove copyright bit.
i dont think so m8. i use media player to 'legally backup' my CDs, and it has never copyrighted them (is copyrighted a word?).
 

davidh

<font color="RED">Administrator</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
14,954
try loading them back into media player the save as mp3
 

nilrem

Member +
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
921
Thanks for your help guys , it looks like media player keeps the copyright licenses intact so that although I can make copies of the tracks I already have on my hard drive I can't convert them to mp3....

Cheers
 

hatab

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Messages
6,266
MA said:
i dont think so m8. i use media player to 'legally backup' my CDs, and it has never copyrighted them (is copyrighted a word?).

unless u untick the box windows media player (latest version 10) by default now copyrights each track, weather u rip as wma or mp3, u can turn it off though.

if u have winamp even an old copy like 2.77 load up files into play list highlight track then right click and view file properties, u can see there for both wma/mp3 if the copyright bit is set.
 

nilrem

Member +
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
921
hatab said:
unless u untick the box windows media player (latest version 10) by default now copyrights each track, weather u rip as wma or mp3, u can turn it off though.

When u say turn it off is that for all discs that are done from then on or will it disable the copyright on all the discs I have already done ??

Sorry to keep this thread going but I don't really wanna rip every cd I own all over again

Cheers
 

hatab

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Messages
6,266
no, if it was ripped with copyright on then its on, if u turn off in mediaplayer it then sets off as the setting for future rips.

if u dont want to rip all again then u need summat that can remove copyright bit set in the header.

winamp as far as i know will only report weather bit set or not i use 2.77 cos i like it :) its on version 5. summat now maybe u can remove bit with that on a track by track basis rather than re-rip cd's.

im sure sumbody uses latest winamp or similar
 
TEST
Top