another signal issue ;)

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,972
Reaction score
2,454
hi all.

after much consideration i decided to ditch my fully working dbox for a dreambox.

i put ultra 0.9b on last night, did a channel scan and found there was about 11 or so channels missing. mostly xxx channels. tried a couple of other images too, DW 1.6 etc and still the same 223 chans found.
if i convert 1 of my dbox service files and stick it on the dreambox the channels work, but still wont show up in a scan. i decided to get myself 1 those boosters from argos but when it's inline the snr drops to about 40k and the ber hits the roof even on it lowest gain setting.
ive tried manual scans just for that transponder that seems to missing the channels but no luck, only finds 7 channels on it. ive removed splitter etc with no luck either. i have had a search through and found this : http://www.digitalworldz.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=65304

my sig is 29000-32000 and snr 62-64k and ber hardly moves above 0 as in the thread above and liam said they were spot on.
could this be a over signaling problem? and if so what db attenuator would you recommened?
cheers.
all other channels work perfect with no freezing stuttering. with the booster it kills them all.
 
Last edited:

LINDOREZ

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
I've had the exact same problem, I think maybe the SLX1P boosters are causing noise on the signal and making the BER high.

I bought a variable attenuator from beststuff.com, was only £2.99 including delivery, so its not much to loose if it doesnt work.

http://www.beststuff.co.uk/coaxial_accessories.htm

However i tried putting the attenuator after the booster, it doesnt lower the BER at all just the signal strength. However that attenuator is quite good, i tried it without the booster and it does its job. Just happened to be in my case the opposite effect of what i wanted.
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,972
Reaction score
2,454
Thanks for the reply mate just ordered 1, im pretty sure it is over signal so i hope this will work. i have had a 3db and 6db attenuator laying about here for years and the first time that i need them they cant be found, typical.
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,972
Reaction score
2,454
just to update on this ;)

got my variable attenuator today and it cured the break ups on itv1 etc but still misses 15 channels when scanning, all porn so im not to bothered but it's annoying not knowing why lol.
i cant see a reason why they dont appear. tried a few images and all the same.
stick my dbox2 service file on (converted) and all channels are rock solid including the 1's that go missing in the scan. the signals are good aswell they dont differ from the ones that do appear in a scan.

*SCRATCHES HEAD*
 

Devilfish

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
14,269
Reaction score
198
Location
Dream world
I have a similar scenario. My scan is 99% in that it finds all the channels except the porn, but the porn is shit anyway so not really bothered. I get 3 porn channels on the dreambox and about 6 on the dbox2. If I convert the dbox services I get them back, as you do, but as I said, not really bothered.

I do get breakup on sky sports 1 so I might try that variable attenuator. Thanks.
 

[email protected]

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
139
Reaction score
3
just to update on this ;)

got my variable attenuator today and it cured the break ups on itv1 etc but still misses 15 channels when scanning, all porn so im not to bothered but it's annoying not knowing why lol.
i cant see a reason why they dont appear. tried a few images and all the same.
stick my dbox2 service file on (converted) and all channels are rock solid including the 1's that go missing in the scan. the signals are good aswell they dont differ from the ones that do appear in a scan.

*SCRATCHES HEAD*

Was the adjustment of the Attenuator Trial & Error?

I have a similar problem, and was about to get a variable attenuator

Do you recommend h**p://www.beststuff.co.uk/coaxial_accessories.htm

Thanks
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,972
Reaction score
2,454
I do get breakup on sky sports 1 so I might try that variable attenuator. Thanks.


it's worked a treat in respect of the break up's.
i noticed that the strong channels that broke up the signal has been reduced and the weaker channels the signal has gone up lol.

but yeah im not bothered about the porn, just not knowing why that does my head in.
every channel is rock solid except i have noticed i get no EPG on those missing channels even though they work.
 
Last edited:

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Reaction score
29
Location
Bavaria
Was the adjustment of the Attenuator Trial & Error?

I have a similar problem, and was about to get a variable attenuator

Do you recommend h**p://www.beststuff.co.uk/coaxial_accessories.htm

Thanks

Simply open the display with the numbers for BER AGC and SIG and adjust the thing until you get a BER around zero.
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,972
Reaction score
2,454
Was the adjustment of the Attenuator Trial & Error?

I have a similar problem, and was about to get a variable attenuator

Do you recommend h**p://www.beststuff.co.uk/coaxial_accessories.htm

Thanks

yeah i found if i turned it to far it scanned less channels.

what i did was converted my dbox2 service file and then adjusted the attenuator on the channels that didnt show up in a scan till i got the signal to match up with the working channels.
there all working fine now except for the scan grrrrr
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,972
Reaction score
2,454
Simply open the display with the numbers for BER AGC and SIG and adjust the thing until you get a BER around zero.

i know what your saying but my BER stays around 0-50 on every setting of the attenuator. only the SIG and SNR drops or rises.
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Reaction score
29
Location
Bavaria
Maybe your image creator botched the BER readings.
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,972
Reaction score
2,454
Maybe your image creator botched the BER readings.

possible i guess LOL

neutrino ultra 0.9, not seen it mentioned yet though ;)
 
TEST
Top