Access database

Dutcho

VIP POOF
VIP Member
Reaction score
Hi

Are any of you chaps good with access ?

I need a database setting up to record repairs carried out.

I have fooked on at work but cannot get the fook to work quite right.

The feilds I need are

Job No. (this was added as primary key needed a unique value)

Date

Shift

Zone

Station

Fault Type

Repair

Repaired By

I would like it to appear as a form but multiple forms to appear on screen, so you can see the past few repairs.( I may have this bit sorted though, also where does it save records coz when I re open they disappear :(

Here's one I'm messing about with. Another problem is I have office 2007 here and it is a older version on works machines so would it run ?

Access I think, lol although it may run in a web browser, which do you feel would be easier ?

I have never used access before, normally use excel so I have only been messing about trying to learn as I go along, lol.

To be honest, access would be easier but you may find it easier to download a pre-created database.

Look in google, I expect somebody out there has posted something like there, maybe search on

free ms access database track "repair jobs"

As for compatibility, Access2007 has a save as old version option that makes it compatible with Access2003.

I wouldn't say you need to download a premade database, in access just make a new table and use it design mode. Then use a form to do whatever you need. If you want any power behind the forms you can use Visual Basic macros, if you're feeling up for a challenge.

Yes, ok - doing it in Access itself is easy enough. The question on the web page was to find out if more than one person need to use it in more than one place. If this were the case, then you could plonk it on a webserver and use a few pages to view, update, edit records etc.

How far have you got along so far?