• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

3 bios beeps ?

clive58

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
4,086
Likes
29
#1
My sons PC has been working fine untill last week when it started to beep 3 times for 2 seconds each on bootup and thats all it does.
No bios access ect just the 3x2 second beeps.

I've researched this and its meant to be "3 Beeps Base 64K mem failure Bad memory"

I've swapped the P4 chip with another one thinking it was the processor chips mem' but its still doing the same thing?

Can anyone spread any light on this please.

Clive.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
168
Likes
2
#2
yup bad/broken/fooked mem mate

take one out than try each one

also goto MS site and leech MEMTEST

Have fun
 

Baaheeduk

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
6,479
Likes
148
#5
Taken from another source:

Your computer has memory problems. First check video. If video is working, you'll see an error message. If not, you have a parity error in your first 64K of memory. First check your SIMM's. Reseat them and reboot. If this doesn't do it, the memory chips may be bad. You can try switching the first and second banks memory chips. First banks are the memory banks that your CPU finds its first 64K of base memory in. You'll need to consult your manual to see which bank is first. If all your memory tests good, you probably need to buy another motherboard.
 

clive58

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
4,086
Likes
29
#7
Ok, thanks guys I've ordered faster and double the ram I had before because its so cheap :) from e-bay, I was going to do this anyway so hey-ho :)

@Baaheeduk, The PC was working fine before so I can only guess its got to be the DIMMs aye?

I'll let you know if it sorts the problem out :)
Thanks for the quick response guys ;)


Clive.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
168
Likes
2
#9
Ok, thanks guys I've ordered faster and double the ram I had before because its so cheap :) from e-bay, I was going to do this anyway so hey-ho :)

@Baaheeduk, The PC was working fine before so I can only guess its got to be the DIMMs aye?

I'll let you know if it sorts the problem out :)
Thanks for the quick response guys ;)


Clive.
do you know what mem it is clive, i have tons of old`ish mem i might be able to mail you a few free ofc its no good to me
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2005
Messages
2,910
Likes
9
#11
Ok, thanks guys I've ordered faster and double the ram I had before because its so cheap :) from e-bay, I was going to do this anyway so hey-ho :)

@Baaheeduk, The PC was working fine before so I can only guess its got to be the DIMMs aye?

I'll let you know if it sorts the problem out :)
Thanks for the quick response guys ;)


Clive.

Is it ddr or ddr 2.? i might have a gig or 2 laying around here if u would like to test it.
 

clive58

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
4,086
Likes
29
#12
Yes please jaspa,
even if its not the problem I'm after buying some more ram for my boys pc so there will be some dosh in it for ya if it fits mate :)
i'll give you a bell and maybe come round yours sometime, I've been told by ppl at PC world and maplins that its very unlikely to be the ram in the DIMM and its more likely to be the 64k ram on the mobo so I've ordered a replacement mobo anyway.

Clive.