2 pc's 1 port in router

marra

DW Regular
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
4,623
Reaction score
182
Location
The rats nest of wires behind my TV
hi i think i allready know the answer to this but is it possible to open 1 port in a router to 2 pcs
e.g
192.168.0.1 port 1234
192.168.0.2 port 1234

if so how do i go about it, under port forwarding in my linksys router when i try to add the port to both ip's it tells me there is a conflict and thats as far as i get, thanks any help appreciated
 

notmeatall3

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,283
Reaction score
22
Location
z'ha'dum
You shouldn't have any problem opening the port for both pc's.
I not own a linksys but try to look for a setting to open a port with an ip range.
 

Hejira

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
18
I'm assuming your talking port forwarding? I don't think that would be possible!

More rules for routing of the traffic would be needed, How would the router know which PC to forward the exact traffic mean't for each individual PC.

Maybe a little more info on what your trying to do, and someone could poss offer a solution.
 

marra

DW Regular
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
4,623
Reaction score
182
Location
The rats nest of wires behind my TV
I'm assuming your talking port forwarding? I don't think that would be possible!

More rules for routing of the traffic would be needed, How would the router know which PC to forward the exact traffic mean't for each individual PC.

Maybe a little more info on what your trying to do, and someone could poss offer a solution.

cheers for that mate thats what i expected to behonest just i didnt know for sure i just came across a situation which we cant talk about on here were it would of helped but not a big prob, thanks again for the replies
 

Hejira

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
18
Just pissing in the wind here but you could be able to have the same traffic on 2 different port numbers, for instance accessing a web server one on port 80 and one on port 8080 you would then forward 80 to one PC n 8080 to the other PC.

Just a thought
 

notmeatall3

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,283
Reaction score
22
Location
z'ha'dum
mara post or pmn me the make and model of the router and i should be able to get the manual and find what u need to do?????
on my net gear it allows me to select a range of ip's to allow for each port. Im 90% sure the linksys will be the same. My ma got one next time i go over i will have a look
 
Last edited:

Hejira

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
18
I'm more than happy to proved wrong, but I'm pretty sure from all i've read that this is not possible for Port forwarding @notmeatall3. What router u using?

Just one of many quotes I've seen
If something truly needs Port Forwarding, it is next to impossible to forward traffic to two internal hosts on the same port.

Port forwarding is a rule that says, "forward all traffic on this port to this IP if the connection is unsolicited".

Multiple computers can use the same application at the same time if the app connections originate from within your LAN because usually the source ports used to originate the connection are random, and therefore unique on both computers. Your SOHO router keeps track of which computer is using which source port, and when traffic comes back in, it knows by the different destination port which traffic goes to which computer.

For example, both my wife and I are currently using MSN Messenger at the same time. We're connected to the same server at the same destination port. Her SOURCE port is 61871, but my source port is 2210. That's how her IM's go to her, and mine go to me.

However, the port on our end is the same as a destination port on an incoming connection request, which is what port forwarding is used for.

IE, if both my wife and I wanted to host a web server at the same time on port 80, how on earth could the router know which IP it should send each incoming request.

Even more complicated - what if traffic is coming from the same IP for both our web servers? How would the router know which internal machine to send the traffic to?

I've seen work arounds for certain applications
h**p://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/Multiple_PC_RD.html

but these require port number manipulation
 

notmeatall3

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,283
Reaction score
22
Location
z'ha'dum
Netrgear fvs124g. U can select a range of ports i.e. 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.2 etc
 

Hejira

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
18
Netrgear fvs124g. U can select a range of ports i.e. 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.2 etc

That's a much tastier router than ya standard soho router and does have additional functions including the ability to have multi wan addresses which would give u the ability to create a setup possible of routing required by marra, although it does seem to have very good routing without completely reading the manual I still stand by my comments as this is non standard for most routers they create an absolute rule to port forward a port or multiple ports to one address. Some additional routing rules must be configured within your router for multi address routing. It does state on the data sheet for your router "unrestricted users per port" but also states for some gaming apps " Each computer must use a different port number."

As ever some clever fcuker will find a way, but I don't think it's a straight forward setting in a standard router, as stated in my first post additional routing is required!

I'll try to find the time to read through the manual and see how this router does this as it does sound interesting I have to say, may be a consideration for marra to buy one of these routers.
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Reaction score
332
Why not alter the recieving port on each device?

Say the system uses port 1234, setup the router to allow PC1 to use external port 1234 and internal port 1234, the set PC2 to use external port 1234 but route it to internal port xxxx (whatever you like)
 

Hejira

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
18
Why not alter the recieving port on each device?

Say the system uses port 1234, setup the router to allow PC1 to use external port 1234 and internal port 1234, the set PC2 to use external port 1234 but route it to internal port xxxx (whatever you like)

This would cause the same conflict, port forwarding is taking the incoming traffic on a certain port 1234 and redirecting it wouldn't know how to seperate the traffic to two lacations without further instruction!

If the traffic came from two locations you could set a rule saying port forward traffic from 1.2.3.4 port 1234 to one address then a rule saying port forward traffic from 5.6.7.8 port 1234 to the second address.

The problem will always be how does the router know what traffic on the said port should be directed to which pc! This is why the rule has to be unique and absolute.
 

Hejira

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
18
This is taken from the manual for the fvs124g

Because the FVS124G uses Network Address Translation (NAT), your network presents only one
IP address to the Internet and outside users cannot directly address any of your local computers.
However, by defining an inbound rule you can make a local server (for example, a web server or
game server) visible and available to the Internet. The rule tells the firewall to direct inbound
traffic for a particular service to one local server based on the destination port number.
This is also
known as port forwarding.

Note it states ONE local server as I would expect so although I do believe this router would be able to achieve what marra wants it would not be done without further rules. As the router has dual WAN it would be possible to state a rule as my previous post to achive this but is not standard in most routers.

Port triggering which this router has is another matter and deals with traffic in a different way this maybe being confused with Port forwarding but again is not standard in most soho routers and still only one pc at anytime can use it.
 
Last edited:

rowl3y

DW Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2006
Messages
88
Reaction score
29
for more ip's on a router i just put *.*.*.*

and it work's on my D-LINK
 
TEST
Top