• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 SATA2 7200RPM 32MB cache £88.07

MFCGMFC

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
7,052
Likes
76
#1
The Samsung Spinpoint F1 drive offers a superior combination of density, recording quality and reliability. This 3Gbps SATA drive has a maximum of 334GB of formatted capacity per disk while also featuring Samsung's industry-leading NoiseGuard and SilentSeek‚ technologies to eliminate acoustic noise. Servers, high-end desktops, RAID systems and DVRs are among the applications well suited to the Spinpoint F1 drive.

http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...+F1+SATA2+7200RPM+32MB+cache+?productId=30998

1TB drives are certainley coming down by far the cheapest i've seen

Cheers
MFCGAVMFC
 

bastantey

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
43
Likes
0
#2
It's showing as:
£79.95 exc. VAT
£93.94 inc. VAT
for me, that's without postage as well.
 

MFCGMFC

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
7,052
Likes
76
#3
Get this product for
£88.07 inc. VAT
through our very limited SuperSpecials offer!

when you click on the link its in big green letters?

Cheers
MFCGAVMFC
 

Erazor786

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 19, 2006
Messages
1,126
Likes
26
#4
im getting the same as bastantey, £93.

Maybe your special so they are giving it to you cheaper???:Cheers:

Edit. Yh i see what ur saying below the original price it says "get it for....."
 

bastantey

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
43
Likes
0
#5
Get this product for
£88.07 inc. VAT
through our very limited SuperSpecials offer!

when you click on the link its in big green letters?

Cheers
MFCGAVMFC[/QUOTE

Sorry about that.
£92.18 with shipping,good price.
 

robc11

DW Member ++
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,830
Likes
64
#9
Got to say what a good set of drives the spinpoint are too. Ive got a 500gb (£60 back in december)and its is so quiet compared to my 2 250gb seagate's ive got in also , very relible too, but im not even using it to its full advantage im using a PCI sata raid card. Ive just got it back from samsung as my psu blew something on the controller board but they replace it under warrnty lol, but im considering gettin this now and using the spare sata port on the pci card then i would have 2tb lmfao :proud:
 

Joe1989

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,285
Likes
11
#10
The Samsung Spinpoint F1 drive offers a superior combination of density, recording quality and reliability. This 3Gbps SATA drive has a maximum of 334GB of formatted capacity per disk while also featuring Samsung's industry-leading NoiseGuard and SilentSeek‚ technologies to eliminate acoustic noise. Servers, high-end desktops, RAID systems and DVRs are among the applications well suited to the Spinpoint F1 drive.

http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...+F1+SATA2+7200RPM+32MB+cache+?productId=30998

1TB drives are certainley coming down by far the cheapest i've seen

Cheers
MFCGAVMFC

I dont understand this, Does that mean you cant have 1 drive with 1TB, Does it mean it has to be split into 3 drives, and raided toghter ?
 

Munkey

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
5,831
Likes
169
#11
I dont understand this, Does that mean you cant have 1 drive with 1TB, Does it mean it has to be split into 3 drives, and raided toghter ?
No

The 1TB drives contains 3 platters internally which make up 1TB. This acts as 1 drive in your OS. The platters are just the way these hard drives are made ie a 500GB HD may have 2x250GB platters
 

Bilals

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 11, 2004
Messages
578
Likes
1
#12
it says its a sata 2 ? mine i think its sata the first one that came out not 2 does it matter or not?

cheeers
 

robc11

DW Member ++
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,830
Likes
64
#13
it says its a sata 2 ? mine i think its sata the first one that came out not 2 does it matter or not?

cheeers
If your motherboard is original sata then you can still use this drive, but you will only get sata speeds i.e. 150Mb/s not 300Mb/s (which sata 2 is). So you could still use it yes.
 

Munkey

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
5,831
Likes
169
#15
Guys even when running a RAID 0 with 2x 1TB drives the max read performance I can get is around 130Mbs on a SATA II connector.

I think anything over 150Mbs is not really possible with consumer gear.
 

robc11

DW Member ++
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,830
Likes
64
#18
Lol im debating this as i have the 500gb model and i have a spare sata port on my pci expansion card, but that would take me to 2TB
 

Joe1989

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,285
Likes
11
#19
No

The 1TB drives contains 3 platters internally which make up 1TB. This acts as 1 drive in your OS. The platters are just the way these hard drives are made ie a 500GB HD may have 2x250GB platters
Ah thank you!