Build advice New Computer

telsave

DW Member +
Reaction score
Hi hope someone can take up this challenge please.

I have decided to get my son Dutcho to build me a new computer, and hope someone can guide me as to what is required parts wise to do this. Let me explain my situation first.

Although I am retired, yes I am really that old, my computer has to be my best friend. It is seldom switched off. I used to work for a living now i just work!!!

Recently I built and managed a large website for a European charity as well as tinkering with sites of my own. Now I have accepted the role of voluntary registrar to a Child and Adolescent Therapies College. Part of that role is to build an interactive membership register online where the public can search to find a psychotherapist in their area. This of course means building another website as I am going to put the register online I may as well build pages for the technical side of the College so other therapists can access pages which will be hidden behind passwords from the general public.

What I am saying is that the computer needs to be a workhorse.

Presently my old computer has:
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor
4GB RAM Installed
64 bit operating system X64 based processor
ATI Radeon Graphics HD 4300/4500 Series
Hard Drives
STA 500
WDC WD 2500
WDC WD5000
TSST Corp CDDVDV SH-S223B ATA Disk Drive
Qualcomm Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-52