Complete Newbies Please Read!

KeepGood2006

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi folks.

This is going to be a little post mainly for people who are new to this scene. Others may find some of the info useful though. I'm writing this because I actually stopped posting here for quite a while because I was sick of seeing 'What the latest news on....' and 'Its not working for me.....'. The answers to those two are simple, the first one is 'get off your arse and do some work yourself' and the second is 'Use the search button!'. Most of the time, your answer has probably already been answered alot of times. Read back more than one page on the forum, there are alot of posts, so recent posts can easily be 3 or so pages back. The latest new will almost always be posted anyway, so there is no need to constantly ask for it.....more to the point.....search for it, or even better, find it yourself and tell us all about it.

There will be alot of info in this post that isnt in detail, there will actually be alot more to it, but you should get enough info to do searches that will give you results. Also, when you dont know what something is, put it into google and search on that term, then when you think you've found out enough about that thing, go back and start reading again.

Right, I've done my griping, now onto the info.

Cable modems...firmware...console...Whats it all about?