iPod IPOD touch 8GB 3.1.2 FW help needed

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Reaction score
i've just bought one for me lad at crimbo a itouch 8gb and it has 3.1.2 firmware on it.
im a total newbie when it comes to itouch stuff so will this be a 3rd gen IPOD touch ? and if so can it be cracked ?.
i read something about you can only turn it back on by connecting it back to the PC if switched off or the battery dies , , is this true ?.
any links or help please thanks.

just sent you a PM m8

after digging abit deeper can someone answer a coule of things ? how do i detect if i have a 2nd or a 3rd gen ipod touch 8gb .and what does "tethered" mean ?.
there's mention of this and im wondering if this applies to the ipod touch's i bought ?.
i read the if you turn it off you have to connect it back to the PC or will it not work.
bit confusing so can someone clear up exactly what tethered really means ?.
no good for a kid in the car who wants to save the battery , turns it off then cant turn it back on ( if thats the case) .
i just want to know what affect cracking it and the "tethered" crack actually means and how it affects the ipod touch's use when switched on off then back on.

me too :) debating weather to do my daughters new touch ?
anyone got any comments who have already done this ?

:)

Hi guys, the tethered applies to the iphone and not the ipod touch, all it does is allow you to use the phone as a modem to connect a laptop to the net with the sync cable, I have been using mine for a while and done quite a few friends with blackrain and never had a problem.

hope this helps, if you need any more info give me a shout!

Hi, been thinking about it myself, take a look at this, may help give you an idea.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u7DnqOS1njU[/ame]